not edited or finsihed
Post to the south central Hendon
Grahame Park
RAF Museum. Concrete and glass galleries of 1969-72 by IndustrialDevelopment Group Ltd.
Bomber Command Museum,1983, by Anne Machin of Wimpey Architects.
Entrance Gates to the Grahame-White Aviation Co. Ltd are now at the entrance to the Museum.
Queens Building contains a very large chimneypiece in Renaissance style, possibly brought from Grahame-White's Aerodrome Club House, the College's original location.
Copthall
‘Copt Hall’ 1574, ‘Copidhall’ 1632 - hall or manor house with a high peaked roof'' from old English
Colindale Avenue
Grahame Park
A miniature new town, planned with a mixture of public and privatehousing for 10,000 people, on the site of the aerodrome runways. Estate built 1965-75 and named after Claude Grahame-White, the aircraft enthusiast and pioneer who opened Hendon Aerodrome in 1911 and in the same year started his aviation company here. The housing is by the GLC, with private and Ministry of Defencehousing around the fringe; community buildings by BarnetArchitect's Department. completed by 1975. long N-S central spine with tall buildings of six to seven storeys concentrated along a winding pedestriancentral route.Remodelling by the Borough of Bamet from 1989 to 1995created a new, more picturesque image: Collaboration between GLC, local authority and developers. boiler house. Land released by Ministry of Defence. Spine of shops to shield the rest from the M1 and to separate pedestrians and traffic.
Community Buildings, built together with the flats, ringthe changes by the use of angular forms, echoing the cranked lineand materials of the brick-paved spine route. Near the centre theroute widens into an irregular square.
St. Augustine. 1971. By Biscoe & Stanton, 1971-5. Brick, polygonal, with lower offices attached.
Grahame Page Way
RAF pageants
Sunningfields Road,
Pillar box by A. Handyside & Co. Ltd. Derby & London. Foundry; Britannia Foundry and Engineering Works. Anonymous Louer posting aperture Large 19 in dia, 1884