this post has not been checked and edited
↧
Chelsea
Beaufort Street.
Site of Beaufort House, reputed to be the site of the house of Sir Thomas More,who bought an estate in Chelsea in 1520, and lived hereafter his resignation from the Chancellorship in 1552. The actual site is in doubt but Beaufort House, which faced Battersea Bridge, is themost generally accepted site. Formerly the mansion of the Duke of Beaufort, it was purchased in 1736 by Sir Hans Sloane for £2.500 at a publicsale, and was pulled down in 1740. It was laid out in 1766 after Beaufort House had been demolished. Rebuilt in 20th, and consists largely of blocks of artisans', dwellings facedwith red brick.
St Thomas More Buildings most prominent buildings today the first new housing built by the borough, five hefty blocks of flats, 1903-4 by Joseph & Smithem. Red brick cheerfully embellished with stone quoins and some carving, and varied gables, although nothing like as picturesque as L.C.C. work of this time. It was built to provide 261 self-contained tenements, with eight bathrooms and a drying-room in one of the basements.
Contemporary red brick terraces opposite built for better-off artisans by the Metropolitan Industrial Dwellings Co.
A tiny enclave of pure modernism
24 by Casson Gander Partnership, 1963,
Note on GLC development and proposal for road alongside the railway, Grade II ecology site Features in films 'Morgan’.
Many houseboats moored. Features in films 'I’ll Never Forget What’s ‘is Name’, Otley’, ‘Goodbye Gemini’, .
Chelsea Yacht and Boat Company. Features in films 'The Deadly Affair’.
Church Rpad BATTERSEA
Chelsea Creek. Features in films 'B.Monkey’,’The Optimists’.
Kensington Canal dated from 1828, when Counter’s Creek, a former tidal estuary of the Thames, was made navigable. By 1836 it had proved unprofitable and was sold to the Birmingham and Great Western Railways, and in 1859 it was finally filled in to make way for the West London extension line.
Dreary streets between Lots Road, King's Road, and CheyneWalk built upon the site of Cremorne Gardens, which untilclosed in 1877 was one of London's principal summer pleasure resorts. Many houses have been destroyed by bombing. Chelsea Boroughcouncil developing a new housing estate. The borough's major post-war redevelopment. Armstrong & Manus produced a master plan in 1948 for rebuilding with 809 dwellings; work began in 1949 with flats in Riley Street planned already in 1944. The main feature of the estate is a series of typically neat but uninspiring 1950s slabs ranged behind a low, austere terrace with shops along the s side of King's Road
The Cremorne Estate originally Chelsea Farm, and in 1751 bought by the Dowager Countess of Exeter. . Devolved in 1803 to Viscount Cremorne. Grounds opened to the public, opened as a pleasure garden. Covered sixteen acres and much livelier than Vauxhall even on its most brilliant nights, and splendid displays of fireworks were given here. Amongst other attractions were a theatre, circus, an outdoor orchestra, grottoes, and dining-hall.1845 numerous balloon ascents were made by Mr. and Mrs. Green. A later attempt at aerial navigation by a Mr. de Groof resulted in disaster, for when the apparatus was suspended beneaththe car of a balloon, and the machine was liberated, it immediately collapsed owing to some defect in its construction, and fell to the groundwith a terrible crash, instantly killing its unfortunate occupant
Cremorne Gardens
Created in 1982. Re-erected here is the fine white-painted wrought-iron gateway withthe royal arms that stood at the King's Road end of the originalgardens, which belonged to Lord Cremorne's house and wereopen as a public pleasure ground between 1845 and 1877.
Features in films 'Morgan’.
81 Michelin Tyre Depot with painted walls and tiles 1911. Offices above. The Michelin building was designed by F. Espinasse. It was begun in 1905 and further extended in 1910. The Company's merchandise was wittily advertised by the architectural motifs on the motoring theme with cupolas resembling piles of tyres, motor-car wheels in the pediments and tiled illustrations of cars and bicycles decorating the pillars. Even though the Michelin Man no longer adorns the top of the main window, his origins are clearly implicit in the rest of the decor that survives. Bedford Lemere, 1910. Bibendum restaurant opened here.
241 Features in film ‘The Football Factory’,
369, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital developed on the site of St.Stephen's Hospital founded at 1876. It was called St. George's Union Infirmary for the school of St.George's and St.Mary's, Wanstead. balloons put on walls inside. changed to St.Stephen's by Enid Blyton's husband ,who worked at the hospital. transferred to London County Council from Westminster Board of Guardians Features in films 'Jack and Sarah’, ‘Spice World’, ‘Sliding Doors’, ‘If Only’, ‘Five Seconds to Spare’, ‘Eyes Wide Shut’.
Shellmex Garage, This was a large servicing station built in the early 1920s with room for a great variety of vehicles as well as pieces of equipment like the motor-repair stand shown in the foreground. The extensive skylights ensured the maximum of natural daylight. Notices to the staff begged them not to smoke and to 'Be Clean'.
North side between Arthur Street and CarlyleSquare was site of King's Parade. Built 1810 on site of farmhouse where in 1771 where following a robbery and murder. Which led to Jews in Chelsea being targets of violence.
Past the World's End Tavern is the bridge over the West London Railway, which forms the dividing line between Chelsea and Fulham. The West London Railway follows the track of the former Kensington Canal,
The Porticos. An earlier effort at improved working-class housing now very select, but originally built in 1885 by Elijah Hoole for the Chelsea Park Dwellings Company as sixty labourers' dwellings, complete with central garden, 'in rural style ... to avoid the barrack-like appearance too common in industrial dwellings' . Two three-storey ranges, the one to the street conspicuously picturesque (though hardly rural), with shop below giant red brick Gothic arches, tile hanging and patterned roughcast above.
355, a custard-coloured tower built as council flats by Chamberlain Powell 1969, revamped by Fitch &• Co. in 1988 as private flats with new top floor and new cladding to hide the problematic load bearing brickwork
372 La Bersagliera. Features in films '’Dracula AD 1972’ as ‘The Cavern’
400, Kings House, of c.1900, looks cheerful with brick and stone chequer upper floor,
Water Rat, a sweet stuccoed pub, marks
Moravian Burial Ground. A large pair of gates marks the entrance of what was once part of the grounds of Lindsey House. . The trees are in a private garden, established around the former stables of Beaufort House when Moravians occupied Lindsey House. Here the Countess of Huntingdon had a house, and the Moravians settled on land bought in 1750 by James Hutton from Sir Hans Sloane. only the burial ground remains, at the junction of the King's Road and Milman Street. It is divided Moravian-fashion into four plots – for married men and women and single men and women. Here lie Peter Bohler, Wesley's spiritual mentor during his search for faith in 1738; James Hutton, bookseller and leader of the Fetter Lane Society; and John Cennick, Wesley's first lay preacher, best remembered for his hymns. But the flat stones are weathered and hard to decipher. This is the site of Sir Thomas More's house, which later came into the hands of Sir Hans Sloane and was demolished in 1740. Features in films '’The Lion at World’s End’.
World's End. Effervescent, pub rebuilt in 1897, which has happily survived the road-widening schemes, and steps out with florid bows and corner turret
536 breaks the mid c 19 terraces broken offices with flats behind, 1979 by Sir John Burnet Tait & Partners, built on the site of a brewery. Their plain brick bulk uncomfortably at odds with the quite elegantly detailed groups of stuccoed houses outliers of the classier Gunter estate development
577 Imperial Pub. Haggard’s Brewery set up by Haggard Brothers.City gents,for the pub.
Police Station. Was on the corner of Milman’s Street. Now gone. Features in films '’Lost’, ‘Sapphire’, ‘Victim’.
Settlement which grew up in the 17th on the road between Chelsea and the Bishop’s Palace at Fulham. The district to the north of King's Road, extending to the West LondonRailway, was formerly known as Little Chelsea. Until about 1860 it stillremained more or less a rural hamlet in its general character. It commenced west of Chelsea Park, now Elm Park Gardens, and had its centrein Fulham Road, at the corner of Beaufort Street, leading to BatterseaBridge.
On 16 April 1765 Mr. James House Knight, of Walham Green,returning home from London was robbed and murdered on the FulhamRoad in the vicinity of Little Chelsea. A reward of £50 was offered forthe discovery of the murderers, and on 7 July following two Chelsea pensioners were committed to prison charged with the murder on the evidence of their accomplice, another Chelsea pensioner, whom they hadthreatened to kill as the result of a quarrel which took place between them. The accused were tried, found guilty, hanged and gibbeted.
114 Lots Road Pub and Dining was previously the Ferrett and Firkin in a Balloon Up the Creek and before that Balloon Tavern because if balloons which went from there in 1859. Features in films 'Castaway’
116 Features in films 'The Deadly Affair’.
5, 6 two taller houses. Bays with integral garage, is by W. D. Caroe, 1912, for Pern Morris of Elm Park Gardens a benefactor of St Peter, Cranleigh intended at first for his coachman.
Development in a low-key 'artistic' manner with small houses in an Arts and Crafts or neo- Georgian idiom by a variety of architects. The street frontages are deliberately varied in their materials, with plentiful use of the projecting bays and wooden door cases that required special exemption from the London Building Acts
2-4. as 14-16
3 1912 was the home of Leonard Stokes,
14-16 tone set by the sequence of 1913 by Alfred Cox and F. E. Williams where the dominant motifs are again grey and red brick, tiled dormers, and canted bays with sash- windows
An earlier c19 group remains
9 Stanley Studios. Features in films 'Personal Services’.
Salvadors. Features in films 'Personal Services’.
39 workshops 1985 by Moxley & Frank introduce a spare post-modemnote; orange brick, with deep eaves on thin brackets.
Features in films 'I Believe in You’.
54 Carlisle House. Features in films 'The Optimists’.
Part of the Sloane Stanley estate, remained a secluded spot until the end of the c19, with a few detached houses, popular with artists. Its redevelopment began c. 1909, when it was extended to Elm Park Gardens,
2-8 a neo-Georgian block of flats with canted bays by Elms and Jupp.
West side is mostly in grey and red brick and dates from c. 1913;
9-11 dated 1912
Development. Major landmark from the river. 742 homes and 8 acres open space, shops, schools etc. tried to get it human in appearance. 1977 destroyed an old part of Chelsea which had been called World's End. .
↧